Return to Headlines

Strath Haven High School Students Honored

Congratulations to the students who were inducted into the Strath Haven HS chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS)! They were honored in a ceremony on October 20th led by Society co-advisers Mr. Alissa Harvey and Mr. Alex Paul and the current student officers. SHHS principal, Dr. Greg Hilden Mrs. Andrea LaPira also participated in the ceremony. Watch the video here. (skip ahead to 1:17.38)

2021-2022 National Honor Society Officers

President - Morgan McErlean
Vice President - Anna Meyers-Moloney
Secretary - Alexander Verona 
Parliamentarian - Daniel Jing

National Honor Society_Morgan McErlean National Honor Society_Anna Meyers Moloney National Honor Society_Alexander Verona National Honor Society_Daniel Jing

Selection for membership is based on students meeting the four pillars of NHS: scholarship, leadership, character, and service. Students inducted into NHS give back to our local and school community by completing a variety of service projects, as well as tutoring WSSD students in need of extra support. Congratulations to our new inductees! 

2021 NHS Inductees

National Merit Scholarship Program

Also during the ceremony, Strath Haven seniors were recognized for their outstanding achievement in the National Merit Scholarship Program. Congratulations to the fifteen students named Commended Scholars and fourteen students named Semifinalists!

Commended students are among the top 3-4 percent of scorers on the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). Semifinalists represent less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors, including the highest-scoring entrants in each state. They have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered in the spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. Good luck in the next round!

Sawyer Bock, Benjamin Crawford, Sarah Elmer, Kevin Gao, Lorelai Mesaros, Karl Rennick-Zuefle, Emily Shor, James Wang, Mark Wang, Mark Zhai

Commended Scholars
Amber Chen, Francis Fletcher, Elisabeth Gillham, Liam Goodwin, Mason Hall, Nate Harrington, Jake Hooper, Jason Hu, Akash Kaukuntla, George Li, Will McCambridge, Hannah Rappaport, Amelia Ruether, and Harry Yu